Barbarian F.C. have named their starting XV for Saturday’s clash against Northampton Saints at cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens, with a whopping 15 internationally-capped players involved across the squad.

The world’s most famous invitational side head to Northampton for a second time in successive seasons to lock horns with the men in Black, Green and Gold on Saturday (2 September) with the kick-off time set for 2pm and tickets still available HERE.

Saints ran out 45-39 winners on a memorable afternoon when the sides met for the first time ever back in November 2022, but the BaaBaas will be hoping to turn that result on its head this weekend and have named a side packed with international quality.

72-cap Wallaby James O’Connor starts at fly-half in the famous Black and White hoopes, with the Barbarians captained by his half-back partner Ryan Lonergan of the ACT Brumbies and Australia A.

Hunter Paisami and Filipo Daugunu boast 31 Australia caps between them, and line-up together in the centres, with Tom Wright (25 caps) at fullback and Lachlan Anderson and Dylan Pietsch (both capped by Australia A) on the wings.

Up front, eight-time Wallaby Lachlan Lonergan packs down at hooker with the NSW Waratahs’ Tom Lambert and Melbourne Robels’ Sam Talakai either side of him in the front row.

Former Saint Lukhan Salakaia-Loto unfortunately is a late withdrawal from the provisional squad announced earlier this week, but he is replaced in the BaaBaas’ second row by 16-time Japan international Uwe Helu – who partners Australia international Cadeyrn Neville in the engine room.

Rounding off the line-up for the Barbarians are flankers Lachlan Swinton and Seru Uru (capped by Australia and Australia A respectively), as well as Japanese international No.8 Faulua Makisi.

Meanwhile, amongst the replacements there is plenty more talent with the likes of Harry Johnson-Holmes, Taichi Takahashi, Harry Wilson, Kaito Shigeno and Ryohey Yamanaka – all capped at international level – looking to make an impact off the bench.

Saturday 2 September, 2023
cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens
Kick-off: 2pm

15 Tom Wright
14 Lachlan Anderson
13 Filipo Daugunu
12 Hunter Paisami
11 Dylan Pietsch
10 James O’Connor
9 Ryan Lonergan (c)

1 Tom Lambert
2 Lachlan Lonergan
3 Sam Talakai (vc)
4 Uwe Helu
5 Caderyn Neville
6 Lachlan Swinton
7 Seru Uru
8 Faulua Makisi

16 Shunta Nakamura
17 Kenta Kobayashi
18 Harry Johnson-Holmes
19 Taichi Takahashi
20 Harry Wilson
21 Kaito Shigeno
22 Nicholas McCurran
23 Ryohey Yamanaka

15 George Hendy, 14 Will Glister, 13 Tom Seabrook, 12 Tom Litchfield, 11 Jake Garside, 10 James Grayson, 9 Callum Braley; 1 Alex Waller, 2 Tom Cruse (c), 3 Paul Hill, 4 Theo Vukasinovic*, 5 Geordie Irvine, 6 Angus Scott-Young, 7 Henry Pollock, 8 Izaiha Moore-Aiono*
Replacements: Aston Gradwick-Light, Craig Wright, Elliot Millar Mills, Callum Smyth*, Ed Prowse, Kayde Sylvester, Reuben Logan, James Cherry*, Henri Lavin*, Archie McParland, Matthew Arden, Toby Thame, Oscar Daniel*, Ewan Baker

Referee: Ian Tempest
Assistant referees: Harry Walbaum and Jonathan Healy
No.4: James Pidding