THE Barbarians will unleash giant wing Taqele Naiyaravoro and gifted full back Tim Nanai-Williams against Australia this month after Head Coach Alan Jones named his squad in Sydney.

The Grand Slam winning former Wallabies coach has named a group of 24 players making up his squad for the Barbarians tour of New South Wales with matches against the Classic Wallabies in Lismore (October 24) before facing the national side at Allianz Stadium in Sydney (October 28)

There are 11 internationals named in group and seven Wallabies in Quade Cooper, Sam Carter, Pekahou Cowan, Luke Jones, Matt Hodgson, Eto Nabuli and Naiyaravoro.

Waratahs wing Naiyaravoro wrote himself into Barbarians history with his man of the match performance against South Africa in the 31-31 draw at Wembley last year. He smashed his way over for a first half try, then set up a classic Barbarians score for Luke Morahan.

Taqele Naiyaravoro in action against South Africa

Taqele Naiyaravoro blasts through South Africa’s defence

Chiefs full back Nanai-Williams was the one to watch at Twickenham when the Barbarians and Australia produced another thriller in 2014. Michael Cheika’s first game in charge of Australia ended in a 40-36 victory with 11 tries shared in one of the games of the season at Twickenham.

Jones has also drafted in a former Waratahs favourite in South African back row Jacques Potgieter and 21 year-old Reds prop Taniela Tupou is a giant prospect who will qualify for the Wallabies later this year.

Quade Cooper

Quade Cooper in action against the Barbarians in 2014

There is one place on the roster secured by a fans’ vote with the Barbarians welcoming Sam Ward into their squad.

The No.8 lifted the 2017 Shute Shield with Warringah at the end of an emotional season in which his brother Lachlan died playing for the Rats’ fifth grade side.

Tickets to the Barbarians v Australia are available from

Barbarians squad: Forwards: Richard Arnold (Force), Sam Carter (Brumbies & Australia), Pekahou Cowan (Force & Australia), Matt Hodgson (Force & Australia), Luke Jones (Bordeaux Begles & Australia), Kane Koteka (Force), Isi Naisarani (Force), Matt Philip (Force), Jacques Potgieter (Bulls, Sanix & South Africa), Anaru Rangi (Force), Andrew Ready (Reds), Taniela Tupou (Reds), Sam Ward (Warringah).
Backs: Tom Banks (Brumbies), Quade Cooper (Reds & Australia), Sam Greene (Toyota), George Moala (Blues & New Zealand), Eto Nabuli (Reds & Australia), Taqele Naiyaravoro (Waratahs & Australia), Tim Nanai-Williams (Chiefs & Samoa), Chance Peni (Force), Augustine Pulu (Blues & New Zealand), Michael Ruru (Force), Theo Strang (Sydney University).