Ashton splashes down at full back against England


Chris Ashton starts at full back for the Barbarians when he lines up against England for the first time in Sunday’s Quilter Cup Match at Twickenham.

The Toulon wing – who has scored 19 tries in 39 Test appearances – is part of a stellar back line featuring his Fijian Stade Mayol teammates Josua Tuisova and Semi Radradra, and Scotland’s Calcutta Cup winner Finn Russell.

The famous invitation club’s all-star back row consists of captain Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (Argentina), World Cup winner Victor Vito (New Zealand) and Wales’s British & Irish Lions flanker Justin Tipuric.

Chris Ashton

Chris Ashton faces England in the Quilter Cup at Twickenham

The Barbarians have made a late change because of suspension to lock Flip van der Merwe (Clermont & South Africa). 

Joe Tekori (Toulouse & Samoa) – a try-scorer in this fixture last season – has joined the squad and will be on the replacements bench.

“It’s an exciting challenge to bring together a side in five days but everything we’ve done has been about improving our chances of winning this game,” said Head Coach Pat Lam.

“We have very high-quality individuals – and they’ve worked hard and risen to the challenge of coming together as a team, which is what we’ll need to compete with a top class international side.”

For tickets to the Quilter Cup go to www.englandrugby.com/tickets


15 Chris Ashton (Toulon & England)
14 Josua Tuisova (Toulon & Fiji)
13 Semi Radradra (Toulon)
12 Josh Matavesi (Newcastle Falcons & Fiji)
11 Niyi Adeolokun (Connacht & Ireland)
10 Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors & Scotland)
9 Rhodri Williams (Bristol & Wales)
1 Denis Buckley (Connacht)
2 Benjamin Kayser (Clermont & France)
3 John Afoa (Gloucester & New Zealand)
4 Ultan Dillane (Connacht & Ireland)
5 Siteleki Timani (Clermont & Australia)
6 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (Toulon & Argentina, Captain)
7 Justin Tipuric (Ospreys & Wales)
8 Victor Vito (La Rochelle & New Zealand)


16 Tatafu Polota-Nau (Leicester & Australia)
17 Loni Uhila (Clermont)
18 Ramiro Herrera (Stade Francais & Argentina)
19 Joe Tekori (Toulouse & Samoa)
20 Nili Latu (Newcastle Falcons & Tonga)
21 Greig Laidlaw (Clermont & Scotland)
22 Luke McAlister (Toulon & New Zealand)
23 Malakai Fekitoa (Toulon & New Zealand)