The Presidents

There have only been six Presidents in the history of the Barbarians, an office first instituted in 1913 and naturally occupied by W.P. Carpmael, the founder.

He held office from 1913-1936 and was followed by Emile de Lissa, 1936-1955, who was associated as Secretary, Treasurer, Vice-President and President from 1901-1955; Jack "Haigho" Smith 1955, whose term lasted for only a few weeks before his death, having previously given devoted service as Honorary Secretary for more than 30 years; Brigadier Glyn Hughes 1955-1973, a man of great achievement and rare modesty; Herbert Waddell, 1973-1988 who had a distinguished record in the highest echelons of the game; and now Micky Steele-Bodger, since 1988, who has held every high office in the game of rugby.

More information on the presidents can be found in Roll of Honour - Profiles.