England duo start against Red Roses

nolli 670.jpeg

England greats Danielle Waterman and Rochelle Clark start against the Red Roses when the Barbarians women’s side make their first appearance at Twickenham on Sunday.

New Zealand’s Linda Itunu leads an experienced side including 11 former World Cup winners into the first leg of an England v Barbarians double header that kicks off at 12:45.

Itunu, Fiao’o Fa’amausili, Steph Te Ohaere-Fox and Justine Lavea have all lifted the trophy with the Black Ferns, while Waterman, Clark, Tamara Taylor, Laura Keates, Georgie Gulliver and Ceri Large won the title with England in 2014.

The Barbarians also include 10 of the squad that beat the USA 34-33 in Denver last month, including Wales’s Jasmine Joyce, who scored four tries against the Women’s Eagles in Denver.

Anna Richards

Barbarians coach Anna Richards

Head Coach Anna Richards has 944 caps-worth of experience in her squad and has spent the week bringing players from eight different nations together.

“It’s been a really enjoyable challenge to mould a team together and I know they are all super-excited about the opportunity they have,” said Richards.

"The five days we’ve had together have been a wonderful experience and it’ll be great to see them take their talent out onto the pitch at Twickenham against England.” 


15 Danielle Waterman (Wasps & England) 82 caps

14 Jasmine Joyce (Worcester Valkyries & Wales) 15

13 Emily Wood (Gloucester Hartpury & England) 4

12 Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere & Ireland) 34

11 Tova Derk (Wasps) 0

10 Elinor Snowsill (Bristol Bears & Wales, vice-captain) 53

9 Kristina Sue (Fielding Old Boys Oroua & New Zealand) 15

1 Rochelle Clark (Wasps & England) 137

2 Fiao’o Fa’amausili (Auckland Marist & New Zealand) 57

3 Steph Te Ohaere-Fox (Christchurch & New Zealand, vice-captain) 25

4 Carmen Farmer (Glendale & USA) 11

5 Dalena Dennison (Warringah & Australia) 12

6 Justine Lavea (Ardmore Marist & New Zealand) 34

7 Claire Molloy (Wasps & Ireland) 69
8 Linda Itunu (Ponsonby & New Zealand, Captain) 40


16 Heather Kerr (Darlington MP & England) 16

17 Laura Keates (Worcester Valkyries & England) 60

18 Gaelle Mignot (Montpellier & France) 70

19 Tamara Taylor (Darlington MP & England) 115

20 Georgina Gulliver (Saracens & England) 37

21 Hannah Casey (Saracens & Ireland) 7

22 Ceri Large (Gloucester Hartpury & England) 52

23 Kayla Ahki (Unattached) 0